Designer Proust: The DNA of LNA

November 17, 2009

Lauren from LNA and I were fast friends. Long before she was the Queen of Tee she has become, we met while I was in between jobs and working at a girly boutique in Brentwood. She was peddling the daintiest lace dresses that I had to buy every style of and still rock hardddd to this day (although I think it’s safe to say that both of our styles have evolved beyond *flirty feminine* at this point!) Anyway, I knew from day one she had great things in store for herself and couldn’t be prouder of the now lusty LNA powerhouse. Hopefully I can shed some light on what makes this designer tick in yet another tantalizing addition to the Designer Proust Series…

CAYSF: Who is your greatest muse? 

LNA Lauren: That changes all of the time. Right now I have a couple. Natasha Kahn of Bat for Lashes, Alison Mosshart of the Kills, and Georgia May Jagger.


CAYSF: What is your main fault?

LNA Lauren: I am such a procrastinator! I cut it waaay to close to deadlines… according to my sister that is. But that’s what deadlines are for right?


CAYSF: What do you do to get inspired?

LNA Lauren: I get really inspired by whatever bands I am currently listening to. Singers make great muses! They always have a really interesting sense of style and I am always inspired by how they put their outfits together.


CAYSF: What 3 things would we never find you without?

LNA Lauren: My Iphone–it’s all 3 in one–phone, camera and Ipod.


CAYSF: Who are your top 3 people’s closets you’d like to raid?  

LNA Lauren: Victoria Traina, Natasha Kahn, and Marilyn Manson– I just know my dream pair of leather pants is in that wardrobe somewhere.




CAYSF: What is your fave piece of clothing and a story behind it of why? 

LNA Lauren: All my white V necks: The staple of my wardrobe and the reason April and I started LNA. A white V neck looks good with EVERYTHING. I mean, you know it’s never going to go out of style.


CAYSF: What are your top 3 fave foods? 

LNA Lauren: Chocolate, Chocolate, Chocolate


CAYSF: What is your favorite travel destination? 

LNA Lauren: Palm Springs for relaxing and vintage shopping and New York for a fun getaway.


CAYSF: Where could I find you on a random Sunday? 

LNA Lauren: At home! Sunday is my one day where I literally do nothing. I sleep in, go get coffee, and then stay in the rest of the day! Lazy Sundays when it’s raining are ideal =)


CAYSF: What is your favorite motto? 

LNA Lauren: I would rather regret the things I did than the things I did not do. I have no clue where I heard that or when but it has always stuck with me.


CAYSF: Mount Rushmore honors 4 US presidents: Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln and Roosevelt. If you could add anyone to the mountain, who would it be and why?  

LNA Lauren: Bill Murray! How hilarious would that be?!


CAYSF: Who is your favorite band?

LNA Lauren: Radiohead.


CAYSF: Who is your favorite artist? 

LNA Lauren: Mattia Biagi!


CAYSF: What is a memory that has shaped your career most? 

LNA Lauren: This didn’t really shape my career but it definitely was a moment I will always remember. I once met with a very well known label owner (cant say who it is) to get some advice about starting a clothing line and he told my partner and I that we were probably never going to make any money selling t-shirts. I will always remember that day. We were so new in the business and we saw how harsh this industry can be. I think it opened our eyes and made us work that much harder to make it!


CAYSF:What designer or store would be a dream LNA collaboration?

LNA Lauren: I would like to collaborate with  Browns in London. They really get it and take risks with the buying for that store. I wouldn’t have to play it safe or try and appeal to a mass market. I don’t like designing with restrictions.


Without further ado, here’s some lookbook loveeeee!


Leave a Reply

