If Anyone Needs A BDay Hint Pour Moi…

September 15, 2009

irisiris2Iris3iris4

If you happen to be looking for a birthday present for me (27 on the 27th–eek!), please remember one of my mottos in life: “Viva la coffee table book”!  I’ve been jonesing for this one featuring my favorite “geriatric starlet” Iris Apfel. She has the profane style and eye for eccentricity that only comes via DNA and is perhaps the only 85-year-old that frequents H&M. A legend in the interior design/textile business, Estee Lauder, Jackie Kennedy Onassis and Babe Paley were longtime clients. 

Here’s an excerpt from a great interview with her; the entire transcript can be seen on lookonline.com

“So my very first job was a copygirl for Women’s Wear Daily when they were down on 13th street. And I lasted there a couple of months. It kept me in shape, and that’s about all because I was running up and down the stairs, but I realized quickly enough, being very bright, that I’d never get any place because all of the editors, at that point, were middle aged…they were too young to die and too old to get pregnant, so I’d never get a shot. So eventually I left…and through a series of strange events I ended up in the Interior Design business.”

I pretty much want to be her when I grow up.

Leave a Reply

